The UTCSP is committed to supporting the development of exceptional research trainees who are future leaders in the field of pain science.

Upcoming TC3-UTCSP Joint Professional Development & Training Award

TC3 and UTCSP have partnered to offer the UTCSP TC3 Professional Development & Training award. This is a competitive award to offer professional development opportunities for trainees engaged in research on cannabis and/or cannabinoids, the endocannabinoid system, and/or pain and/or its related comorbidities. Professional development & training opportunities may include, but are not limited, to:

  • conference attendance
  • external professional development courses or training,
  • travel allowances to support collaboration/training at institutions outside of Toronto
  • other professional development activities as appropriate.

Funds are provided to contribute to the costs of event registration, travel, accommodation, and meals in accordance with the University of Toronto regulations.

Click here to apply!

Application closes on November 10th, 2023 at 11:59 pm. 

If you have any questions, do not hesitate to reach out to the UTCSP Program Coordinator:

UTCSP's Pain Scientist Award

The UTCSP Pain Scientist Scholarship is merit-based and will be awarded to applicants that exhibit high academic achievement, originality, excellent research ability or potential, excellent oral and written communication skills, and leadership abilities. The objective of this scholarship is to strengthen pain research and talent development through the provision of financial support for research training.

Interested in applying for the 2023 UTCSP Pain Scientist Award?

All trainee levels can apply (MSc PhD PDF)

Application Deadline: June 16th at 11:59 pm

Apply here

Past Award Recipients





TC3-UTCSP Joint Professional Development Award


The UTCSP partnered with the Toronto Cannabis and Cannabinoid Consortium (TC3) to offer a professional development and training award. This is a competitive award to offer professional development opportunities for trainees engaged in research at the intersection of cannabis and/or cannabinoids, the endocannabinoid system and pain and/or its related co-morbidities.

2023 Recipients

Matthew MockfordMajid SaberiBatu KayaGeorgia HadjisLizbeth AyoubMaham ZainEvgeny OsokinRossi Tomin

Molly (Yunyi) ZhangSamah HassanMarie-Eve Di RaddoCatharine MielnikDaniel Mori-FeganJustyne RodasMaryam Sorkhou

Sonja Elsaid (Kasapinovic)Claudia LutelmowskiPavel PowlowskiYalin SunPedram MouseliLaura BennettDhvani Mehta

The Canadian Pain Society Lottery


The Canadian Pain Society‘s Annual Scientific Meeting was held in Banff, AB from May 10-12, 2023. This lottery covered all membership and registration costs.

2023 Recipients

Samah HassanBrittany RosenbloomBatu Kaya

Patcharaporn SrisaikaewMaham ZainAnkita Das

Christopher DedekMahshad KoahdouzanSuha Sagheer